A Personal Perspective on Women's Self Defence.

Discussion in 'Women's Self Defence' started by Melanie, Mar 27, 2008.

1. Melanie

Melanie Bend the rules somewhat.. Supporter

There is much information in regard to women's self-defence available in various media. This information mentions what is offered, what costs and the value this new found experience might provide to women. All of this information is necessary if self-defence classes are to be taken up by women. This article is not about why you should take up self-defence, merely an explanation of why I did. When I was asked to write this article, I thought I would try to explain my personal perspective, so here goes:

I started training in self-defence in January of 2002 after 2 years of Shotokan karate. I have been fortunate enough to be taught previously by two instructors (Sensei) that were equally interested in the application and the techniques intrinsic to Shotokan. They pushed their students into exploring the techniques, to find their every day usefulness. After seeing a self-defence demonstration in September last year, followed closely by a pressure point seminar, I found that this aspect of my chosen martial art was equally as stimulating as the martial art itself.

I can only speak with the experience of a few months of self-defence training - so for me personally, I have found self-defence per se an outlet and explanation of some of the techniques that I have presently come across in Shotokan.

Shotokan (traditionally) has a very deep stance and what can be considered as an impractical stance for Self-Defence purposes. The first stance taught, Zenkutsu dachi (forward stance) has been over the years referred to as the learning stance and it has been suggested that as your training develops in Shotokan, your stance is expected to raise and become more natural, to allow for better movement.

[​IMG]

Zenkutsu Dachi

[​IMG]

Shizentai Dachi