A long overdue review of GLIMA

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by IronMaiden1991, Mar 7, 2020.

1. IronMaiden1991

IronMaiden1991 Active Member

Last year for my birthday I took myself off to a GLIMA seminar. For those unfamiliar, GLIMA refers to a collection of wrestling styles and sports from the Nordic people. There are various styles, including trouser grip, where the competitors grapple the belt in a manner comparable to sumo-meets waltzing. There's backhold, where the two fights bind around each other with their arms and try to overpower each other, if any part of the body other than the foot touches the ground, that person loses. Then we come to the version I studied, loose-hold.

Loose-hold, or lausatök, is a lot more like other wrestling forms. Pretty much any grip is allowed from most other styles of wrestling, save for the groin and face as far as I am aware. The participants start with left left forward and right hand forward, gripping the forearm. From here, on a ready, set, go style command, you can assume any grip and attempt to throw. It works very much like no-gi judo. It was a lot of fun. One thing I did find interesting is there is a rule similar to the whole 'you can grab the belt but you have to throw' rule I have seen in competition judo. In this case, you may slap your opponent in the face.