A few Questions from a complete Newbie

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Noob, Oct 17, 2003.

1. Noob

Noob Valued Member

Hello, I'm thinking about starting to learn a martial art and Tae Kwon Do is one which, to be honest I had originally not considered, but after reading some stuff on this site and thinking about my goals has become the one I seem to be most interested in. Anyway to cut long story short I have a few questions regarding the art/sport which I'm hoping someone could answer before I make the next step and start contacting instructors in my area. While I could get these answers from teachers I'm hoping that you guys and gals might be able to tell me what the answers "should" be (to avoid a long time in a McDojo).

1) For someone who is not in great physical shape - Noob is soft, flabby and roundish shaped - is Tae Kwon Do very physically demanding initially or will it build up as my physical capabilities increase through practice?

2) Equally for someone who isn't that supple will the art naturally allow me to gain the level of suppleness needed for the better/fancier/harder kicks or should my instructor reccomend stretching exercises, and if so which ones?

3) How long should it take a complete begineer (no martial arts experiance) to reach the first - non white - belt and subsequently a black belt (I'm not aiming for a black belt in a quick time, but know that a lot of McDojo's have many black belts - kinda looking for an average here?

4) What is the best reason you could give me to practice Tae Kwon Do?

5) Is there anyway of seeing online videos of correct forms so that I can have an idea of good form - to check student/instructor competancy at the schools?

And the bonus question is, can any of you reccomend instructors or schools in my area (North London - Barnet, Hatfield, Welwyn Garden City, St Albans, Hitchin, Borehamwood, Elstree in the UK - am aware of a few?

Thanks in advance for any advice/answers/help you may be able to give.