26th festival of CMA's , oxford.

Discussion in 'Competitors Corner' started by ned, Apr 18, 2016.

1. ned

ned Valued Member

Next Sunday , 24th april , this event run by the Wudang practical Taiji school ( Dan Dochery's organisation ) will be taking place in Oxford.
    I'll be competing in fixed and moving step push hands whilst one of the younger members of our school will be having his first sanda fight.There's also hand/weapons forms.
    It's usually a good day out , I've met a few Mappers there over the years so if anybody's going to be there it'd be good to say hi and shoot the breeze.

2. robertmap

robertmap Valued Member

Hi Ned, Hope you have a lot of fun.

I can't make it on the 24th, previous commitment which is a shame as I have recently added training in Wudang / Practical to the other things I'm studying at the moment (So it tallies at: two Wudang sessions a week, one Yang - John Ding style, one Karate and one Tae Kwon Do)

The Oxford meet is one I haven't been to since (I think) three or so years ago... Shame as it's always interesting to watch the mixture of styles that get shown there.

3. cloudz

cloudz Valued Member

Hmm, yea won't be going but good luck mate - hope you do well and your Sanda classmate learns a lot from the experience - oh he definitely will!
    My current instructor is from ILC and he and a few others were planning to compete a little to help 'spread the word' about the style/system over here.
    Maybe you'll spot them around.

I might try and go along to the London Comp in June, if not to compete just to see what's going on and maybe take some video. It's been a while since I competed, I might even make a little comeback in June - I'll just have to see how things pan out.

good luck and bring it home! :)

4. webcrest

webcrest Valued Member

Hi Ned.