2 good arts to crosstrain

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by usahed, Oct 1, 2006.

1. usahed

usahed New Member

Okay as u can see i am totally new at this martial arts thing, so bare with me guys..

I want to learn an easy but VERY street effective combination of martial arts (please dont say go for BJJ, because ive heard it is very difficult to train in from a few people)
    I want to learn how to demobilize an attacker, be more aware of surroundings, throw my attacker, perform joint locks and pressure points, and if possible A REALLY COOL STANCE :D. I dont want to be paying 600 bucks a month either=/

I live in a very bad neighborhood and go to a drug capitol school (lol) and already been held up with a knife once=/, i dont want to die at 16. Was thinking of RyuKyu Kenpo and Aikido, but all ive been doing is watching videos on youtube:( i have both dojo's close by along with Krav Maga and others, let me know your opinions!

P.S. negative on TKD seeing as half my family already knows it and hated it

2. mojo shorin-ryu

mojo shorin-ryu Valued Member

go with ryku kempo, very street effective, unlike bjj which is entirely ground fighting, bad guys rarely attack alone they often have buddies and whilest youre on the ground youre gunna get kicked in the head manso best to keep it standing. So yeah go with kempo or krav. The pod cast i have in my signature is a lot like kempo, its shorin-ryu but my teacher tells me it almost runs paralell with kempo and shorin-ryu has worked pretty well for me so far.

3. usahed

usahed New Member

Alrighty so RyuKyu Kenpo it is, i called the instructor earlier and i am going in either sunday or monday. Any other arts, I also have a Budokan dojo near me, along with Israeli Krav Maga(?) which is down the road close to Kenpo, any cool stances that go along with the arts? such as a kung fu type stance? that would be so cool...

4. Cosmo Kramer

Cosmo Kramer Valued Member