LaCanne - The Vigny method.

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by StevieB8363, Jan 2, 2011.

1. StevieB8363

StevieB8363 Valued Member

Since I've seen almost no mention of LaCanne on this forum I've decided to post this thread on the older, defensive style of LaCanne which I have been studying for about 6 years now.

Firstly I wish to give an overview of the method, and the reasoning behind it, followed by more detailed (and hopefully illustrated) descriptions of the individual techniques.

Introduction: As stated, I learn the Vigney method: a self-defence system that was designed to defend the user and cause serious injury to the opponent. It is not the points-based style more commonly practiced today.
    The system was designed for use with a walking stick, (an umbrella would do in a pinch), preferably one of light to medium weight, flexible enough to absorb impact, and ideally, with a small **** at the end. The ****, or tip of the sick is used to deliver the impact. The strikes of LaCanne do not rely on the brute strength of the practitioner: the movement of the wrist and the snapping motion of the arm send the developed power down the length of the stick in similar fashion to a whip, with the velocity of the tip being the determining factor in the force of the strike.

To that end, the major strikes of LaCanne are all delivered in a complete circle, with the tip of the weapon gaining speed throughout. This is made possible by use of the high guard. The high guard and circular strikes are the most distinctive features of this method, making it notably different from most weapon systems.

Blocking is primarily done through a simple "box system" with high and low horizontal blocks, and left/right vertical blocks, though more advanced practitioners can use deflections or counter strikes as a means of defense. The "box system" is intended to be easily taught, and simple to use.