BJJ in Judo tourny

Discussion in 'Judo' started by roninmaster, Mar 30, 2010.

1. roninmaster

roninmaster be like water

Ok so theirs this grappling tournament in my state at the end of April. there are different divisions based on the main style of grappling (bjj, sambo, etc) after some jokes i was considering to jump into the judo competition as a secondary, to see how id fare. Just for the experience. Ive been doing BJJ for 9 months. so im competent with grappling and pretty good newaza as you guys call it. i understand points are given for takedowns and pinning not submitting, but i was hoping you guys could give me some pointers. what advice would you guys say is good for a BJJ guy entering a judo tourny?

p.s. are double leg take downs allowed?

2. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

Don't do it.
    hahahaha

I had to go against a few Judokas from Japan several years back at the Copa De Hong Kong... and it was tough standing up. Their throws were superb. One second you're on your feet.. next second... cartwheeling through the air.

Not sure how much stand up throws and throw defense you learn in your BJJ.. but we didn't cover a whole lot as white belts roll primarily from the knees... and well I was a white belt. So flying was par the course against Judoka I guess. :p

Give it a go and let us know.

3. righty

righty Valued Member

First advice. Read the rules. Read the rules well. Find a Judo person to explain and demostrate the rules as the interpretation and application of the rules is sometimes open to interpretation. The are more rules in general with Judo and are also more complexAlso get a Judo person to check you gi to see if it follows the Judo guildelines which a lot of BJJ specific 'kimonos' don't. Do this or you will likely quickly be disqualified, in which case it's a waste of time. It's rather obvious you haven't looked into this as contrary to what you have said, submissions are indeed allowed in Judo comps.