Zhongshan Lau Gar articles translated

Discussion in 'Kung Fu Resources' started by CFT, Aug 14, 2008.

1. CFT

CFT Valued Member

Here is the start of the translation of the various articles on mainland China Lau Gar, specifically the Lau Gar of Zhongshan Xiao Yongding (Siu Wing Ding).

They are my best effort translation of articles collected at this Chinese site: http://baike.baidu.com/view/498484.htm. I'm not a professional translator so it's not very polished. Terms and names are mainly Cantonese romanization though sometimes I use/add Mandarin pinyin.

I have noticed that this first article I'm going to translate contains some elements of a previous one I have read, and there appears to be a very small section missing - not enough to affect the spirit of the translation though.

2. CFT

CFT Valued Member

http://baike.baidu.com/view/498484.htm#1

源远流长刘家拳
    The Long History of Lau Gar Kuen (Liujiaquan)

南拳流派之一。相传有三种说法,一是刘生、二是刘一眼、三是刘青山所创的,他们都是湛江人,都姓刘,故名刘家拳。
    One of the Southern fist variations. The legend is that it was created by either: Lau Saang, Lau Yut Ngan (One-Eyed Lau, typo?) or Lau Ching Saan (Green Mountain). They are all from the Zhanjiang area, all named Lau (Liu), hence [the art is] named Lau Gar Kuen (Liujiaquan).

该拳短小精悍,步型稍高,步法灵活多变,含胸蓄气,擅发短劲,出拳后肘微屈。刘家拳以灵为主,短桥短马、功夫硬朗、灵巧敏捷、步走四方、拳打八面。如进似追风箭、退似雷电闪、走步须灵活、出手似云烟,它多是以吊马、拖马、侧闪等的技法。而手法上则是禽蟧爪(禽蟧即蜘蛛)、虾公腰(虾公即雄虾),禽蟧爪是指它的桥手快速敏捷,虾公腰是指腰力的运用上要有如虾腰般的爆炸力。