Welcome to the Geek Thread

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by hongkongfuey, Dec 20, 2003.

1. hongkongfuey

hongkongfuey Kung Fu Geek

OK, we now have a new section for all the Geeks (and Geekettes) on the site. Feel free to post your computing questions, thoughts, achievements here.

My background :

MCSE, currently working on a Windows 2003 / XP network with mainly Microsoft technologies (SQL Server, IIS, Sharepoint 2003, Office 2003). Do a lot of database development / reporting.

Don't program much anymore, but have used VB.net, VB6, C, C++, FORTRAN 77, MODULA-2, PHP, BASIC, ASSEMBLER (ARM, 6502), CLIPPER. Mainly mathematical / database (with a small amount of 3d graphics) applications. Started in 1981 on a ZX81 with 1Kb of RAM.

Done some open source stuff (this site) on Linux / MySQL / PHP.

2. David

David Mostly AFK, these days

I can see this becoming party central :D

My background:
    self-taught dropout working in IT at university.

Now trying to wangle a pure programming role because I enjoy doing it - the creativity is the buzz for me. Would like to get into databaseson the web but it sounds soooo dull.

Worked with Sun, Sequent, Alpha, Prime, HP, Mac and even some Acorn BBC machines and prefer to use VB6 VB.NET but have done lots in C, some perl, asp, html. dhtml, javascript and loads of misc scripting, and some sorties into machine code on z80, 6502 and 80386.

The first computer I owned was a Jupiter Ace.
    It's rubber keypad nearly destroyed my growing fingers when it wore out as I tried to get the damn thing to respond. It was then, aged 12 when I had my first IT support role, taking my own machine apart to clean the keyboard contacts and glue silver foil to the underside of the keys.