Computers surpassing humans

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Apotheosis, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Apotheosis

Apotheosis Valued Member

I'm no expert on this or related subject, so for those who are be forgiving as far as any mistakes I make.

Are any of you a bit nervous that computers will surpass humans as the number 1 species within your lifetime?

Apparently computers processing ability doubles every 18 months while us humans are at a standstill (and some claim actually going downhill) .

A lot of scientists much smarter than me(like Hawking) have estimated that within 50 years or less there will be computers that can math or surpass out intelligence and of course since it doubls they will be vastly superior intellectually to us within a matter of decades.

Now that isn't the same as an artifical intelligence, or consciousness but once we get to the point where computer are more intelligent than us how long before they develop(or tell us how to and of course we would do it) artifial intelligence?

Once again, I'm no expert but all signs seem to be pointing to humans taking a backseat to some form of AI within 100 years or less.

But even 5 years from now they will be much more powerful/intelligent, already there are computers that can equal human performance in the stock market so 5-10 years from now they will be running our economy and replacing humans in all types of intellectual jobs.

Your thoughts?

2. aikiMac

aikiMac aikido + boxing = very good Moderator Supporter

Being able to quickly add numbers is different than being able to think for yourself.

3. Socrastein

Socrastein The Boxing Philosopher