Was this a decent Muay Thai class?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Daniel84, Aug 31, 2006.

1. Daniel84

Daniel84 Valued Member

Hello, first off this is my first time posting on MAP. Before starting a MA i read some of the threads on here and made my primary choice as muay thai.

Now yesterday evening I went to a trial class and got involved, 15 minutes prior to the class proper the instructor took the class through the beginnings of a warm up. It consisted of jogging, moving across the mats in a variety of weird and wonderful ways then sets of pressups and crunches interspersed with more jogging. Then he moved onto sets of skipping shadow boxing and burpees. Altogether i'd say there was 25 mins of conditioning followed by 5 mins stretching.

Afterwards we went through a few drills with headguards, nothing fancy as this was a beginners class just jab, cross, round kick you'd do it to your partner then he'd do it back to you there were 3 minute rounds in which you kept doing it while he went around the class giving pointers and advice. After a couple of rounds of that he had us switch stance so our weaker side got the work as well. then after a couple of rounds we were to switch it up moving between the stances as we were able. He then introduced a new move into it and after practising that one we were told to incorporate them all. Every couple of rounds we'd switch partners. Through this you were allowed to make contact but it was slightly lighter than usual. This section lasted about 30-40 minutes.