Purpose of Training & Testing

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by KickChick, Sep 9, 2003.

1. KickChick

KickChick Valued Member

I've just read this article by GM Cho and wanted to share it with the rest of the TKD forum....

He has brought up some very good points ... what do you think?

[​IMG]

The Road to Hana by Grand Master Hee Il Cho

I have seen so many promising martial artists quit that I have literally lost count. These students were not lost due to injury, illness or boredom, but due to the periodic testing process in the studio. These are students who failed to promote to the next belt level, and upon the posting of the test results they left the training hall, never to return. As an instructor, I am always careful to explain to everyone who is about to test just what a belt is all about. I can explain it in as clear as manner as possible, but somehow it still doesn't take root for some people. Too bad, but just as well, for these people who quit after not promoting would have eventually quit for some other reason. Not promoting serves not as a reason, but as a convenient excuse.

It is interesting to note that in the early days of martial arts training there were no tests or promotions, and despite the romantic and philosophical implications of all the different colours of the belts (white symbolises "purity", etc.), the real truth of the matter is that everyone began as a white belt because uncoloured fabric was less expensive and more readily available. The uniforms were tied with a simple belt, and though the uniforms were occasionally cleaned and replaced, the belts were not. People's belts became black from the dirt and sweat from years of training, not from a testing process. There is something very appealing to me about this history, because it symbolises an attachment to the process of training, rather than the results.