What is intent?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by llong, Dec 23, 2005.

1. llong

llong Valued Member

Warning: I'm a beginner.

So, what is intent, specifically? I just spend hours talking to a friend of mine from the dojo, and we were really grappling with what it means.

Is it the nonphysical communication (or masking) of your desire?

Is it the intensification of one's desire to win a battle?

Or is it physical?

2. Fyran

Fyran New Member

I'm a beginner too, but I believe intent is basically the desire to do something. So I would have to choose the first answer, the non-physical communication of your desire.

3. Kalifallen

Kalifallen looking for partner

Is it nonphysical communication of your desire?
    Yes
    Is it the intensification of one's desire to win a battle?
    Doesn't have to be.
    Is it physical?
    No
    What is intent?
    Intent is an emotional/mental/spiritual feeling. Intent can be sent in any form, but the reason to send it is it fool your opponent. Many people show intent by showing emotion. Like the elemental feelings of: earth, water, fire, wind and void. More advance ways of using intent is to disguise your intent then become another. Show stability, earth, in all your moves then when your opponent is confident you change your moves but not your intent. This transition will put you in a void. By doing this your opponent will faulter causing you to have a much better chance at winning. Then after that is established you can become a different feeling.

Other forms can be making people think you are going to the right by looking toward the right but instead your body moves to the left.
    Speaking something then boldy speaking a word shows intent.
    Etc.....

These some of the forms of intent.

4. Yama Tombo

Yama Tombo Valued Member