Protein questions

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by PsiCop, Aug 18, 2003.

1. PsiCop

PsiCop Antonio gets the women...

I am an avid martial artist and fitness trainer. I'm 16 and have been lifting weights continuously for over 2 years. Over this period, I have increased my strength and endurance exponentially, but am not much bigger than before. My diet has been heavy with protein and carbohydrates for about the last 8 months. For the last 2 months, I've started drinking protein shakes to help stimulate muscle growth. I'm consuming 80-130 grams of protein on lifting days and 50+ grams on rest days. I've kept it constant, doing it every single day, with only minor results. I weigh 140 pounds and am about 5'9.

Should I just wait longer for any drastic effects to take place? Should I increase my protein intake or general calorie intake? Should I drink the heavy amount of the protien shake on rest days too?

2. TKD

TKD New Member

First of all, it sounds like your getting enough protein. The thing about weight lifting is that not everyone is going to bulk up. Some people will bulk others won't. It depends on your body type.

Next, protein doesn't stimulate muscle growth, protein only rebuilds muscles once they've been torn down.

Also, you may want to research calories and direct effects upon weight, if you keep on a really high calorie diet, chances are, you are going to notice a jump in body fat percentage. Calories are units of energy, any calories you take in and don't use get turned into fat. Every 3500 calories that you don't use, translates into 1 pound of fat. Under normal conditions, weightlifting for 1 hour only burns between 500 and 700 calories.

Protein that is not used to restore muscle is turned into energy(calories), and, if not used as energy, turns into fat, every gram of protein is approximately 4 calories when converted for energy.