Questions from a soon-to-be beginner

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by jherazob, Aug 10, 2003.

1. jherazob

jherazob New Member

Hi. I'm new to all this. I wanted your opinion on a couple of things ninjutsu-related. It may be a long post though.

For the first question, some background. I'm a South-American that works on the day to pay for his studies at night. There are only 2 ninjutsu dojos in the whole country (Colombia), and both of them are on different cities than mine. If everything goes well i'll graduate next year, and maybe even move to the capital of the country, where there's one of the dojos i mentioned. So, it'll be at the very least 6 months before i can start training. So, the question is, what can i do to train myself in the meanwhile?

Second question, related to the first: In ninjutsu.com a Richard Van Donk sells a video course that promises to take you to 1st dan without even having a sensei. Your opinion/experience on this?

Third: A friend got a book called "Knife Throwing Techniques of the Ninja", by a Michael Peters. From my inexperienced point of view the book seems credible and useful, but i wondered if somebody here had seen it or can attest to the quality of the material (or lack of it).

Fourth: As far as i know ninjutsu has a high lethality on it's techniques due to it's combative roots. I wanted to know that if you're trained enough you can, say, inhabilite an opponent without causing him permanent injuries or death, as i don't really want to end up maiming or killing a mugger or something like that, just defend myself and anybody that's with me at the time.

Fifth: I once read that training in martial arts helped you to be more resillient to common diseases like colds and stuff like that as your body get stronger. Is that true?

That's it for now, too many questions for one post :)

Last edited: Aug 10, 2003
  2. Jim

Jim New Member