Xing yi quan

Discussion in 'Kung Fu' started by domidude, Sep 7, 2005.

1. domidude

domidude New Member

Xing yi quan for ring fight and / or street self defence? is it any good for these? or is more like the spiritual internal styles? (i heard that it was the kung fu of the the army in china...)

2. zac_duncan

zac_duncan New Member

I study xingyi. I'm still pretty new to it, but I can give you an idea.

It is considered an internal art, but still a martial art. Most xingyi people remember what it was created for, whereas a lot of other internal arts tend to draw the health and new age crowd (not that there aren't fighters in other systems). It was indeed at one point one of if not the system taught to infantry men in China. I believe some people out there still have the bayonet form.

Tactically, xingyi tends to be a close rang system, controlling the center and striking with fast straight motions. I've heard people say that xingyi is too focused on offense and lacks balance. Xingyi doesn't have a lot of (any?) purely defensive motions, it's all attack and counterattack.

It's based on the wuxing or the five fists: splitting, drilling, crushing, pounding and crossing (sounds real spiritual, doesn't it?). They're fairly simple motions that, for me, were directly applicable in sparring situations.

As far as for ring fighting/self defense, well I haven't competed with it yet, though I have had a number of friendly spars and found it to work well. Most people have trouble with the way it attacks. I'm pretty comfortable that I could defend myself on the street, though I've had a fair amount of prior MA training.

Other people though have competed with it and done well. Mike Patterson, who runs http://www.hsing-i.com (hsing i is another romanization of xingyi) had great success in the Kou Shou fights in Taiwan, eventually retiring undefeated. There are others, but he's the first that comes to mind.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2005
  3. Tseek Choi

Tseek Choi Banned Banned