difference among the xkans

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Love Budo, Jun 14, 2005.

1. Love Budo

Love Budo Valued Member

I have wanted to do this for a while, but have been hesitant for various reasons. But peep_delta's thread has suggested that the following can be discussed openly, without rancor or childish name calling.

What exactly are the differences amongst the three main xkans. In particular, what path did Manaka sensei follow which diverged from that of the bujikan.

FYI, I practice bujinkan. I have no knowledge of the other two save what I have read on this forum. I've done some searching, but have not found a direct, let's compare, contrast and discuss thread. If there is one and I am being redundant, let me know. I will gladly read it and save you all the trouble.

2. Dale Seago

Dale Seago Matthew 7:6

This will of course be incomplete, but for starters. . .and keeping in mind that I'm coming at this from a Bujinkan perpective. . .

Tanemura sensei, from what I recall at the time of the split, seems to have felt that Hatsumi was deviating from what Takamatsu had taught and wanted people to be able to learn these arts as he himself had first learned them from Hatsumi. Since then he's gone on to train with other surviving students of Takamatsu and receive licenses from them, and in the Genbukan also teaches other things in which he had received teaching licenses but not necessarily Sokeships.

I'm not sure just what Manaka's vision actuallly was, but I heard that one thing motivating his approach was his feeling that most people in the Bujinkan did not have a sufficient foundation in the basics -- kihon waza and kata -- of the Bujinkan's arts to develop properly.

Both instructors are, compared to Hatsumi, very formal in their approach. Hatsumi is focusing on "the feeling" he got from Takamatsu and seems to feel that the formal-transmission stuff is almost irrelevant.

3. Love Budo

Love Budo Valued Member

Thanks Dale. I appreciate the responce.