Half way there - reflections

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by bluekey88, May 17, 2005.

1. bluekey88

bluekey88 whimsical in the brainpan

Almost a year ago, I got involved in TKD through my son. 10-11 months ago I started training myself in earnest. 20 minutes ago, I finished testing for my blue belt (5th gup) that puts me about half way to Shodan. :D Through a combination of exhaustion, endorphins, and a Wawa ham and cheddar wrap I'm feeling a bit reflective and thought I share my thoughts.

Fisrt off, I have to say that this was the hardest test I've done...in any art, period. Partly, it was becuase I was sick (running a slight fever, sinus congestion, general yickiness) and partly becuase I wasn;t expecting to test. Tests for the school occurred Saturday, but I was unable to test becuase it was my wife's turn to tesyt...we have foster kids with special needs, one of us has to be watching them. I figured I'd get ot private test in a couple of weeks. Went to an afternoon class (usually an easier class from a physical skills standpouint) and the instrucytor decided to get my test out of the way.

The test is a very physicla one with lots of techniques that require dive tumbling, lots of jumping and kicking drills, medium contatct sparring, etc. I gasped for breath the whole time :cry: , but I made it :D .

It's funny, aside from the physical benefits (increased flexibility, endurance...which could still use some improvement :rolleyes: ...better speed and strength), TKD has helped me in so many other ways. I get to have funw ith and train with both of my children. That's about the coolest thing ever. Just this weekend, my 5 year old daughter got her yellow belt...she worked so hard. My son has turned into a sparring machine on the comp team. He's come so far and it's a source of pride for me to see his confidence turned around...TKD has become adjunct therapy fo rhim to increase attention and focus, and it's really helped!