Judo Or Sambo - Street Effectiveness Aspect

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by NewFighter, Apr 5, 2005.

1. NewFighter

NewFighter New Member

Hello all.

I'm totally new to Martial Arts, and i already want to start my trainings for the first time.

Basically i have 3 available MA styles that i can pick from (location issues):

The main 2 are Judo and Sambo, and the third one is probably what you call "Free wrestling".

I'd like to know which one of those 3 will be the most effective on street, will raise my self-confidence and help me to stay calm and in control (reminds me of a tampon ad oO).

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited: Apr 5, 2005
  2. Richdog

Richdog Limecat is watching...

As far as I know Judo and Sambo are quite closely related, as many Judoka also train in Sambo, and some schools have close ties with eachother. Judo seems more throw based with less attention paid to groundwork, while Sambo is a bit more grappling less throwing.

I imagine free-wrestling (bit general) would come in very handy in a real situation, but then again so can Judo with some adaptation. However, Sambo im not too clued up on really, but like the others I imagine it could be used in a real situation perfectly fine if you know how to apply it.

They are all good arts. :)

3. NeonxBurst

NeonxBurst 1st Black

My friend free wrestles, and yes it's very handy, infact he helped me out of a scrap just the other day. Smashed the kids face right into his shoulder and locked the kid until he gave up while crankin his arm and threatenin that he'd break it.

4. notquitedead

notquitedead used to be Pankration90

Is the wrestling freestyle wrestling?

If I were you I'd try them all out. I wish I had sambo in my area.

5. Radok

Radok Love myself better than U

^That is the BEST signature.

Anyway, assuming the instruction and equipment is equally good, I would go for Sambo.

6. NewFighter

NewFighter New Member

Yes, it's Freestyle wrestling.