Hapkido... what kwan are you?

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by Thomas, May 16, 2003.

1. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

I noticed from some of the other posters that there are some Hapkido students around. What kwans did/do you study and what do you consider the emphasis is in your kwan?

I studied mainly in Moo Moo Kwan in Korea. It's under the umbrella of the International Hapkido Federation (IHF), which falls under the World Kido Federation. We did lots of breakfalls (every session) and worked a lot of open, moderate sparring (everything goes, but with lots of control... don't really injure). Core components of our TESTING curriculum included:
    1. Forms - one or two per belt color level
    2. Straight wrist grabs/Cross Wrist grabs/other grabs
    3. Yoodo (Judo) techniques (Throwing and sweeping)
    4. Breakfalls (lots)
    5. Kicks and punching combinations
    6. Dan Jeon Breathing Patterns
    7. Footwork drills (Cheon Hwap Beop)
    8. Sparring (no rules... good control)
    9. Other stuff...

2. sputnik

sputnik New Member

I study Jin Jung Kwan Hapkido under the Korea Hapkido Federation (KHF)

The KHF is the oldest Hapkido federation around and the dojang I go to is the KHF headquarters in Canada

3. Thomas

Sputnik: Where in Canada are you... are you near the Ottawa region?
    The reason that I ask is because I am just across the Canadian border from Ottawa. If you were in that area, I would love to check out the Hapkido school and invite you to check out our classes.