good fighter/bad teacher, bad fighter/good teacher

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by thekuntawman, Jan 21, 2005.

1. thekuntawman

thekuntawman Valued Member

i dont want to mess up the DATU thread, so i will start a new one.

i wanted to say about trainers like cus d'mato and angelo dundee and there fighters, yes, its true they made a few great champions, and they were not great boxers either. but they are a very small number compare to the number of self-taught trainers getting there boys KILLED in the ring! bruce lee was not a "certified" master, who mostly learned non-wing chun martial arts from books, yet he was a very respected martial artist (some say fighter, too, but whataver). but it doesnt mean that it was a good idea. look how many self taught guys out there dont know what they are doing, and now they are teaching. many trainers who luck out to have a champion under them even though they did not fight, do not have MANY good fighters. i believe mike tyson would been a great boxer no matter who taught him. and then, it takes a much longer time to learn by watching, than the trainer who learned by doing. his ideas an opinions are more valuable than the guy who never been in the ring.

how much teaching skill do you need to teach someone to strike, and to say "your hand is dropping when you enter, that's why you get hit". come on, guys, good fighters, bad teacher...its a bad cliche use by martial arts teachers to excuse why they cant fight ("but i can teach!" come on...) i have never met an arnis teacher in the philippines that would fit an american definition of "good communicator" or "good teachers". and their boys can rumble! many of the great fighters of the past were even taught by teachers who did not allow questions, and did not explain things until later. we are trying to use modern standard for an old art that works just fine.