Is Aikido to complicated to use in a REAL fight???

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by GhostRider, Jul 14, 2004.

1. GhostRider

GhostRider Student Of Life

I read the following article in an email I get from this man's site. I don't agree or disagree with it as I have no real good knowledge of using Aikido in a fight but I've heard similiar sentiments from many corners of the martial arts community.

I personally think that the assessment below might be biased since no-one does well in defending themselves untill they've gotten over the "mental-training" aspect of self-defence within their choosen martial art. Untill you have some experiance dealing with the "shock" value of an attack you really aren't going to be that effective with your choosen martial art.

So my question, after you read this is two-fold.

a.) do you think Aikido is too complicated to really learn to use effectively in a high adrenaline street fight / self-defence situation.

b.) If complexity is an issue in your choosen art form what do you do to prepare for and minimize the "shock" value of an attack?

When I was studying Bujinkan Ninjutsu I was told to do the following in my free time... visualize an attack, visualize every facet of the attack and how you might react with the skills you have. I was to start with simple attacks and work my way on up to more complex attacks. In no way was this to replace any self-defence training, but it was thought that the more I could ''concieve" of a attack the more prepared I'd be mentally and emotionally for the "real-deal"

What do you think??? :confused:

Aikido and Self Defense

The principle of aikido is to blend in with the force or attack,
    join it and continue using the other persons power along with
    your own power against them. Aikido uses a system of
    leverage, finger, wrist and arm locks to subdue their potential
    attacker.

Students spend a great deal of time learning to fall and roll,