Shuri-ryu, opinions good or bad

Discussion in 'Karate' started by DAT, May 12, 2004.

1. DAT

DAT Valued Member

I visited a dojo here in the ATL (Atlanta, Georgia USA) area that teaches Shuri-ryu (alongside Shintoyoshin-ryu Jiu-jitsu). The head sensei seems nice enough and has some good martial family ties. I'm considering the dojo mostly for the Jiu-jitsu but I don't mind doing the Karate alongside. Although much of my background is in Chinese arts, I did study Okinawa-Te for a couple of years back in my HS days.

I've researched the art/style and understand the basics. I detect quite a bit of Hsing-I influence. Could I impose upon the forum members to give me some of their insight into the Shuri system as it compares to some of the original systems in Okinawan Karate such as Goju, Shorin, Uechi and Isshin. Specifically what I'm looking for is an overview of the core concepts...kihon, kata, bunkai, stances, philosophy, martial application, etc. Feel free to offer any negative comments as well. I was also wondering whether other schools around the globe pair Shuri-ryu with Shintoyoshin Jiu-Jitsu. There are several schools in the U.S. Southeast that do so. Someone up the food chain apparently thought they blend well together and the rest as they say...

Thanks in advance.

http://www.tmacenter.com/

2. frankiefuller

frankiefuller New Member

Yoshin Ryu Jiu Jitsu and Shuri Ryu school