Truth about self defense is....

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by bodyshot, May 23, 2013.

1. bodyshot

bodyshot Brown Belt Zanshin Karate

OK heres a good question that Idontreally hae the ansewer to but I would dearly love. Do mostpeople have a false sense of self security about defending them selves? I remember when I started training ma I suddenly discovered I wasnt so handy with the handsas I thought, that didnt deture me from talking alot of smack though. Your thoughts and opnions please.:hat:

2. matveimediaarts

matveimediaarts Underappreciated genius

I haven't done or seen any studies about it, but relatively new students tend to over-estimate their skills in real life (aka "the streetz" lol) in my experience. Not so much with higher ranking students.

3. GoldShifter

GoldShifter The MachineGun Roundhouse

The higher ranked you get, or the more you spar/fight with more experienced students/people, the more realistic this confidence becomes in yourself. When you first learn something really awesome, I was guilty of this as well, you start to think, "Oh I am the poop, I can drop you any day of the week with this and that and that." Then the higher ranked you get, the more trials and hardships you experience in your journey as a martial artist, your thinking starts to become more humble. In my teen class some of the guys there get a little over confident at times, and sometimes it takes a little bit to make their confidence levels a little more realistic. Sometimes it is sparring with some more higher ranking people, sometimes my fellow instructors and I also spar with them.

I've talked and sparred with some guys from school that talked about how their krav training/ WC training was great, and how they could stomp on almost any person of the same size that attacked them. We spar, their full out blows look like a little love tap with a fist. Suffering builds character.

4. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter