Changing Hapikido schools that have styles

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by juicyc, Feb 27, 2004.

1. juicyc

juicyc New Member

Changing Hapikido schools that have different styles

Hi,

I'm new to the fourm (and to martial arts) and I am hoping that I can find some input to a few of my questions.

I have been considering taking up hapkido for the past few years but I have not had the time. Recently I've gone back to school and I am considering giving hapkido a chance. My program is 3 years in Halifax, NS after which I will move back to my home town, Vancouver, BC.

The only hapkido school available in Halifax is a Combat Hapkido school, while in Vancouver there are no Combat Hapkido schools that I am aware of. This implies that if I decide to stick with hapkido I will inevitably have to change to a different style when I move back to Vancouver.

While my motivation in taking hapkido is not purely to achieving rank, I am a goal oriented person and I know that once I have achieved a certain rank it will be a difficult if I am forced back to square one once I change schools.

Should I expect to be placed back as a white belt after changing schools with different styles? Are there certain styles that recognize each other's systems? Any recommendations on how I should approach such a transition?

Any input is greatly appreciated

Chris Metcalfe
    Halifax, NS

Last edited: Feb 27, 2004
  2. OnexDragon

OnexDragon New Member

Although I have never trained in Combat Hapkido, I believe after spending three years in combat hkd you will have a rapidly through the early ranks in hapkido. Your combat hapkido will have some similarities, maybe the basics, to hapkido In doing this, you have nothing to loose, only more wisdom to gain.

But then again I haven't trained in combat hapkido so I wouldn't know how similar it is to hapkido.

3. mike-IHF

mike-IHF Valued Member

reply,