budokwai chelsea, Koryu.

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Counter Assault, May 21, 2012.

1. Counter Assault

Counter Assault Valued Member

Hey So i had a good chat with dean winchester about koryu.

and i investigated this budokwai website a little bit

they have Judo, Karate, Aikido and Jiu-Jitsu.
    i was thinking of taking a trip up there and having a look around some time

has anyone trained there? what are your thoughts on it?

is aikido and shotokan karate a waste of time?

Do you know any Koryu around in Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire and
    Buckinghamshire?

Is judo koryu?

Is kendo Koryu?

I am a newbie doing boxing currently.

2. Llamageddon

Llamageddon MAP's weird cousin Supporter

I think Kogusoku has a connection to Chelsea, and is Mr. Koryu. He might be able to help.

3. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

The budokwai had teachers that were koryu (i think fusen and tenjin shinyo ryu count) but that was during their beginnings in the 1920's. they later became a judo club with the same instructors.

They're one of the oldest english judo clubs and gave birth to legends like Bill Underwood.

4. Chris Parker

Chris Parker Valued Member

Ha, and how have you recovered from that?

It ain't even close to Koryu, if that's what you're after. Mind you, neither is anything else you're talking about, so it could be great for what you're after... but we'll get to that. I will say, though, that I am a bit wary of places that list so many systems (especially when it's a generic "jiu jitsu" [sic] combined with other well known Japanese and related arts), most of all when all taught by the same person.

Not if you want to learn Aikido or Shotokan....

Not offhand, but Dean and Kogusoku, as well as ScottUK would be your go-to guys in that geography.

No.

Judo is a modern system from the late 1800's developed by Kano Jigoro, which has it's basis in a couple of Koryu Jujutsu systems (mostly Tenjin Shin'yo Ryu and Kito Ryu).

No.