Introduction

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by niftyniffler, May 6, 2012.

1. niftyniffler

niftyniffler Valued Member

hi all

Firstly thanks for this awesome and all inclusive forum.
    My name is Anna and I am 39 years old (but really still feel about 25). One of my regrets in life is that I didn't do something about my desire to learn a martial art sooner but better late than never. I studied karate for about 18 months and was pretty much ready for green belt grading when I stopped and reassessed what I was doing. Not only was I unhappy with the business ethics of the school I was with but I was also feeling that the usefulness of what I was learning was distinctly limited. In short - after 18 months of weekly training plus a little practice at home - I didn't feel I was even coming close to being able to defend myself with any confidence. I had always wanted to learn kung-fu but there was no class that was really within easy reach....until March of this year!
    In short a branch of Sifu (will be Sigung to me) Shawn Rawcliffe's school was opening - practically on my doorstep, so I took myself along and have been training hard in Wing Chun ever since - I don't think I have ever been more excited about anything. I practice daily between classes and have absorbed myself in reading all around the subject. In the 5 weeks I have been learning wing chun I have probably learned more than the 18 months I studied karate (as much due to me applying myself more than the way I was being taught and what I was learning). I just hope that when the 16 weeks beginners course is up and my assessment is due that they like me well enough to continue teaching me.:D