Studying in China?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Gryphon, Mar 5, 2012.

1. Gryphon

Gryphon New Member

New member here. I am 17, and I studied Shaolin Kenpo regularly until I was... I believe I was 13. In that time I reached the rank of Shodan (1st Degree Black Belt). I teach at the dojo in the summer, still, and I love teaching.
    I have since quit my training, and I run Cross Country and Track & Field (I pole vault and sprint for track) in high school at the moment. I will be going to college most likely, due to my parents' wishes, but i think that when I am done, or maybe before I start college (if I can) I want to go train in Shaolin Kung Fu at an academy in China ( http://www.shaolins.com ). Then in theory I would try to open a dojo of my own. I am okay with that last part not working out, though, as that is not the point. Anyone have any experience with any of these things? I'm thinking of maybe getting an MBA either before or after training. Preferably after, if my parents let me.
    Anyway, thoughts on training at an academy in China?
    Thoughts on opening a dojo?
    Right now this sounds like an AMAZING life plan.

2. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

With due respect......

Your priority should be getting the proper education and so forth for a real job.

Second, Shaolin is more hype, commercial, and fantasy and not to be taken upon as a life's ambition

Third, Welcome...there are a lot of experienced people here,

3. Osu,

Yes, there are many acrobats, clowns and circus schools in China ;)
    They'll gladly welcome your money!

Osu!

4. 47MartialMan

If I had a choice..

I would go to China to see the Great Wall, The Forbidden City, and then Shaolin....ALL for a tourist attraction....

But if I wanted hardcore training (in Asia) I would go to Japan or Thailand....

(Korea would be OK, but not upon my top two choices)

Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
  5. And Okinawa, Singapore, Taiwan, Philippines...