Technique counters and redirection

Discussion in 'Kuk Sool' started by JSun, Oct 1, 2005.

1. JSun

JSun Valued Member

In CMA, for every chin na technique there is a counter chin na, equal and opposite, an antithesis, if you will. It falls back on the theory of Ying/Yang. I realize that I'm just beginning to learn dynamic Kuk Sool techniques. Up until Chuhng Di, most of the techniques are static. We don't even practice the full technique with break falls yet. So, my question is this...are there counter techniques that are learned later in training, or are breakfalls the only logical extension of technique execution? Is there any training in Kuk Sool along the lines of sticky hands or push hands? I was also wondering how important redirection is in technique execution for other Kuk Sool practitioners. It seems that redirection would be an essential aspect of any technique based on You Won Hwa.

2. TXKukSoolBB

TXKukSoolBB Valued Member

It will be interesting to see fellow KSW'ers opinion on this. If I am understanding your question correctly, in the way that I define redirectional...just about all of the techiniques could fall under this umbrella if you carry the technique all the way through the finish (fall). Example...you attack me (here), I execute (you name the technique) and I finish with you (here) hopefully ending the attack. Specifically, using You Won Hwa, I believe that the first strong taste of these techniques would be Too Ki. There are many more in the JKN level and above (as you would imagine). With that said, you will also see just about all of your underbelt techniques or attributes of those techniques in your advanced training. Hence the value of a strong foundation in your technique executions (stance, locks, balance, speed, falls, and Pressure Point applications).

3. JSun

JSun Valued Member