Shin Kicks

Discussion in 'Thai Boxing' started by Music Man, Dec 6, 2015.

1. Music Man

Music Man Valued Member

I have some questions about Shin kicks in Muay Thai. I am a drummer so I use my feet a lot on the bass drum pedals. I have heard practicing Muay Thai shin kicks deadens the nerves in the shins (I assume the same goes were the foot and the leg meet because I've seen a lot of hits happen there as well).

My question is will these kicking techniques hurt my ability to play the drums with my feet because of killing nerve endings or stiffness or anything like that?

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Kobe Bryant is studying Jeet Kune Do

Serge Ermoll (Australian Jazz pianist) was a 5th Dan Karateka

Mick Jagger used to do Judo

David Le Roth is a martial artist.

Willie Nelson is a black belt

And the list goes on.

You are not as delicate as you may think

Just go train. Beginners aren't sparring with great big ugly killers.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2015
  3. liero

liero Valued Member

You will be fine. Maybe the odd shin clash will make some walking/drum peddling hurt for a day or two but it's just as likely you will trip down the stairs as that happening

4. GoldShifter

GoldShifter The MachineGun Roundhouse