Re-starting Martial Arts

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by morosis, May 30, 2008.

1. morosis

morosis New Member

G'day

I've been in an MA drought for a while, and have decided I want back in :)

I'm a programmer in Brisbane, Australia, and am currently looking for a good MA to take up close to the city somewhere (I live very close to the CBD).

As a kid I did a little boxing and judo, then took up other sports until around 1998 when I started Cheah Tae Kwon Do. When I left due to study commitments about 3 years later I was near black belt (I could have been, but never got to the gradings due to study). I loved that club (friendly but hard instructor).

I'm not really sure what I would like to do yet, but the style of Cheah is very much TKD with added JKD - what I mean is that Master Cheah would borrow elements from BJJ, Kung Fu, Karate, etc. if he thought it would provide an advantage to the way that we learned to fight, and the elements that he borrowed fit into the style quite nicely. As a contrast to standard TKD, we did lots of joint locking, grappling, floor work, basic weapon defence, as well as the standard punches and kicks that you'll find in ITF, etc.

I'd go back, but the nearest club is over 1.5hrs drive away :(

I'm very interested in training a similar style of MA to what I did in the past, as I thought it provided a well rounded skill set, but I don't want a club that trains for tournaments, I want to learn proper fighting skills that you can use in reality. Not because I want to use them, but because I believe those styles provide a much more complete technique, and are thus more interesting, than a tournament focussed style.

Anyone live in Brisbane and know of a club with a good instructor who pushes hard, in a reasonably well-rounded style? Perhaps I should be looking at taking one style now and moving to another that covers the other areas later. I'm not sure :)