Basic tips for initiating rolling?

Discussion in 'Brazilian Jiu Jitsu' started by Morik, Dec 17, 2016.

1. Morik

Morik Well-Known Member Supporter MAP 2017 Gold Award

So I recently started BJJ. I have some prior experience wrestling.

The no-gi class was good--I was decent against less experienced folks, and got destroyed by more experienced folks. I felt like I understand the basics of no-gi rolling and was just severely outmatched. I could follow what I did wrong, etc.

In the gi class I struggle with rolling. My partner usually starts in butterfly. Any aggression by me ends up with them having a grip on my lapel, a foot locked into my chest by the lapel grip, and then it all goes downhill from there as I don't know how to get them back off, and if I don't get it back off they use it to keep progressing.
    I've tried not being aggressive once, but we both ended up sitting there just trying for sleeve grips or something, and eventually I ended up in the same position (I forget exactly what happened, I probably got impatient).

Any tips for the very start/initiating without ending up in that lapel grip + foot to chest thing, or for how to get out of it?

2. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Your problem in both gi and nogi will be understanding the guard,
    1) try pulling guard first so you can learn it
    2) you can stop the open guard by enguaging In the butterfly and work from there (sit on his feet)
    3) If you go at standard wrestling pace (I.e. 100%) people will do the same and make learning hard.
    4) dont be super defensive or super aggressive, just match pace with your partner.

3. PointyShinyBurn

PointyShinyBurn Valued Member

It's kind of a big question. What form is your 'aggression' taking? One good basic passing strategy for gi is to stand, break any collar grips like:
    https://youtu.be/kYreZhCtxjI
    And then control both legs and toreando:
    https://youtu.be/HcrOBNTiYpg