1. The belt system for Nishio Aikido 2. Nishio Aikido versus other styles of Aikido

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by Greetings!, Apr 22, 2015.

1. Greetings!

Greetings! Valued Member

Greetings everyone!

Greatly enjoying my beginning Aikido classes, as a newbie to aikido, I understand that there are different styles of aikido. My previous background in the martial arts before beginning to do Aikido about 5 months ago is judo, which I studied for many years, several years ago, while still in my youth.

The grading system within judo, that is, the system in order to show the progression for a student, is, I believe I recall, white belt, to yellow belt, to orange, to green, to blue, to purple/brown, to finally black belt. Thus, the color of the belts becomes darker as the student progresses. Then, within black belt there are 10 different degrees of black belt.

My understanding that the grading system within Aikido is similar to judo regarding belt color.

I understand that one of the styles of Aikido, among apparently many different styles of Aikido, is “Nishio Aikido”.

I have two questions, please. :)

1. I heard something regarding this particular form of aikido, albeit Nishio Aikido, but I can’t recall exactly from where, that the only grading system for Nishio Aikido, per say, is from white belt directly to black belt. Of course, I would reasonably infer that this doesn’t mean that a student goes directly from white to black overnight, but, rather, after serving within the capacity of white belt for, say, 3 to 6 years or so, and showing that required amount of competence, I would imagine that finally at that point that he/she is then suddenly promoted to black belt. Is this true for Nishio Aikido? That is, the grading system for Nishio Aikido is from white belt directly to black belt? Rather, there are no other color belts, other than white or black, within Nishio Aikido?