Tabi boots/shoes

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by ceyeb0rg, Dec 23, 2016.

1. ceyeb0rg

ceyeb0rg Valued Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm trying to get my hands on a pair of tabi that are good for hiking as well as dojo training.
    I've found a bunch of different models on the web so far but I don't know exactly what I should be looking for.
    Some of them have velcro, some of them have laces, etc. so as a beginner I'm kind of lost here.
    I noticed some of them have the bottom going up until the front of the toes, making them look more legit than the average cheap-looking sweatshop stuff and I'm wondering if it's actually better for training toe kicks and such.
    I'm looking for something comfortable that will last me in the woods and still be useful in the dojo.

Please share some experience with different models and pros & cons of every aspect/material.

I know the forum condemns advertising so I'm not necessarily looking for online store links, just some advice and pertinent points.

Thanks in advance.

2. SWC Sifu Ben

SWC Sifu Ben I am the law

3. Dunc

Dunc Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

Generally you wont use the same tabi for use outdoors and in the dojo

Most of the outdoor variety don't last long or have much padding in the soles. Have a look online for taiko drumming equipment- they tend to use good quality ones

4. ceyeb0rg

ceyeb0rg Valued Member

I don't like most 5-finger models and I feel like they must be a pain to clean.
    I prefer sticking with the traditional 2-toes, unless there are actual benefits to having your toes individually split into the shoe.

5. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Outside Tabi are different to inside Tabi, inside tabi are closer to socks then shoes.
    Also even if you train inside with outside style tabi (which will damage the mats) You don't train in ones used outside, Outside is dirty, inside should be clean.

Also Tabi are useless for hiking.