BW training before or after MA training??

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Spenzores, Mar 26, 2014.

1. Spenzores

Spenzores New Member

Hi everyone im a newbie to this site and I just wanted to get some opinions on something.
    When I train alone I usually split the workout in 2 so I do kicks on and off the bag and then an intense plyometric routine, so what do you guys think I should do 1st the plyo's or the kicks usually I do the kicks 1st but just wanted some opinions thanks guys :)

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Warm up including dynamic stretching first.

Technique next, strength last.

The reason for this is you don't want to be tired when trying to get your technique right.

Last edited: Mar 26, 2014
  3. Spenzores

Spenzores New Member

Oh yeah I forgot to mention I do a dynamic warm up before hand, and thanks for the feedback mate

4. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

Simon is absolutely spot on.

Also, I would say try to separate skill and conditioning entirely if you can, e.g. morning workout (skill) and evening workout (conditioning). Different days is even better.

5. Spenzores

Spenzores New Member

Yeah that would be ideal but I work a good deal of the week so its tricky to fit in all the training I do hence the combining of the 2. Just curious how many times a week do you guys do conditioning exercise and martial arts skill training?

6. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

I go training every night for two hours Monday-Thursday, once on Saturday, then a caveman session on Sunday.

I'm also doing sport and fitness at college. And yet I don't think I'm personally very fit.

7. Spenzores

Spenzores New Member

What's a caveman session? :p just curious

8. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

guessing its like strongman work - kegs, tires and rocks

9. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award