Almost there.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Kframe, Nov 17, 2016.

1. Kframe

Kframe Valued Member

So. I have been working out for about 8 months now.

Strictly barbell work. Started with Riptoes 5x5. As of this writing, I have come to the realization that I am very close to exceeding my best strength performance ever when I was a senior in high school, 17 years ago!

So far the only metric/goal I have yet to meet are my weight goals. Started at 372 and at last weight a few months ago I was 365lbs.. This was a bummer. Not sure why I am not loosing weight, as most people are commenting I look thinner.. Given that when I look in the mirror I cant see it, but it may be a perspective problem. Having said that, I have no weighed in a long time, so maybe I should do a daylong fast and weigh in.

But other then that, I have nearly exceed my younger self in strength. I think the only thing I have not exceeded myself on is the Squats, but that will soon change.

As of 8 months ago, my numbers started as follows.

My Shoulder press started at 45lbs 5x5

My bench press started at 100lbs 5x5

My squat started at 100lbs 5x5

My Deadlifts 100lbs 1x5

My bent over rows I started at 60lbs. 5x5

So as of today my numbers are as follows.

Shoulder press. 165lbs 5x5. This was a war, absolute struggle but I got there. It takes me two weeks just to move up 5 lbs. Even then it is a struggle, but dang it I am getting. My goal for the next year is to get 200lbs 5x5 on shoulders. I remember my senior year best was 155lbs, so this is a improvement for me.

Bench press. 215lbs 5x5. This is a personal best for me. Soon on the horizon is 225lbs 5x5 which will be the best ever for me.

Squats. This I am equal to my younger self, I think. 275lbs 5x5. This too, was a war, but I love the looks of all those plates on the bar straddling my shoulders!