MA for a Bailiff

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by brookerman, Jan 23, 2015.

1. brookerman

brookerman New Member

Hello, I work as a Bailiff. I often have to enter people homes, (usually they are NOT happy) I get shoved/attacked from time to time. sometimes by one person, and sometimes from 2/3 people (usually different directions) I am looking to add a Martial Art to combine with my employers Control and restraint, Physical Intervention training and spatial awareness training. Cleary I cant punch/kick people, but I can push them away, 'throw' them onto the floor from a forearm grab to pin, and even (if necessary) pin them on the floor with an arm lock.

I am looking at Judo, Wrestling, Sambo and BJJ

Which will help me the most for, grabs, throws, pins and multiple attacker (within reason)

Cheers

Brook

2. FunnyBadger

FunnyBadger I love food :)

Hi there and welcome to map :)

Any of those arts you listed should cover what you want and in an alive manner (against a resisting opponent). The biggest factors would be quality of instruction, convenience and how much you enjoy it.

Do you have any clubs in mind or are you willing to tell us your rough location, because we can probably help you to narrow down your search a bit.

How much you enjoy it is a massive one, you can pick up bits and pieces quite quickly but to get good at anything takes time. You might be doing this for work but at the end of the day you still need to turn up and train in your own time, yoyr more likely to stick at it longer and ultimately get more out of your training that way. Best bet would be to get out there and try them all out, see what you prefer and such instructor/class you get on with best.

P.s. Did I mention judo?

3. Indie12

Indie12 Valued Member