Stuck in a Rut

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Rick_Manchester, Sep 17, 2014.

1. Rick_Manchester

Rick_Manchester New Member

Hey guys, I've got a problem and would like some advice.

So, I've been doing martial arts (Hapkido) for around 7 years now, I've advanced through belts and am now 3 away from black belt, going for my red. However, I feel like I'm just not advancing as a fighter.

Let me explain, when it comes to memorising and performing moves from the syllabus be it throws, breakfalls, counters, kicks, punches etc, I can memorise them and perform them perfectly. So much so that it got me recognised in my group and given the position of assistant coach, to help those on lower grades than me.

The problem I have is when it comes to sparring, stood up face to face or grappling on the mat, I can't seem to get the moves out of my head and into my body. I have never won a single ground spar, and it's starting to get embarrassing for me, I can't defeat the people I'm supposed to be teaching. It's not that I get to the point where I'm blacking out or in too much pain to continue, I just get to a position where I physically can't get out of it and counter so have to tap. Especially when I lose sight of my opponent, I can't visualise any way to escape, or feint him so I can get a lock in of my own. And it's not like we haven't been taught any moves, because those I spar against seem to be able to do it.

I feel like my fighting skills haven't improved from the day I walked into the gym and everyone around me has. I seem to be standing still, as I said, stuck in a rut.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? And if so, how did you overcome it?

2. LemonSloth

LemonSloth Laugh and grow fat!

Not precisely the same but very similar.