kick shields

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by sipjinwarrior, Jul 19, 2011.

1. sipjinwarrior

sipjinwarrior New Member

i am a Taekwondo instructor and the vain of my life right now is trying to find some decent equipment at a good price. :bang:
    in particular im wanting a good kick shield but i cant find any trust worthy reviews on any. it needs to be one fit for seniors to kick with little pain given to the holder.

does anyone have any suggestions. the adidas ones i looked at dont seem to be that great. quite flimsy and light and would cut in two following a decent back kick.

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Welcome to MAP. :cool:

I can recommend the pads from Tao Sports.
    I have several high density striking shields (the grey curved ones) and they take the impact, seem to be hard wearing , decent quality and a decent price.

http://www.taosport.co.uk/shop/equipment/index.htm

shields2.jpg

Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  3. Killa_Gorillas

Killa_Gorillas Banned Banned

Contemplated buying thai pads instead? more versitile than a shield.

I used to own a nice solid hayashi kick shield... seemed decent.

4. sipjinwarrior

sipjinwarrior New Member

thanks for these recommendations. we had a SAM kick shield in the mid 90s which used to be perfect, but it has been repaired and duck taped over and over again and its going to have to be thrown away soon.

we tried the blitz range and found them to be poor.

will check out the links given above.

anymore recommendations anyone?

5. Simon

I have not been impressed by Blitz, the quality is just not there. Playwell is the same, if not worse.

Bytomic appear to make some nice stuff.

http://www.bytomic.com/

6. TheMadhoose

TheMadhoose Carpe Jugulum

T-Sport jumbo curved shields are the best ive used. highly recommended over anything by Blitz.

7. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin