Emil Martirossian Interview

Discussion in 'Interviews' started by Urban_Samurai, Sep 30, 2009.

1. Urban_Samurai

Urban_Samurai Valued Member

I am pleased to present to you this most interesting interview I did recently with up and coming martial artist and future action star from the UK, Emil Martirossian. Emil is one of the most dedicated martial artists out there and a proponent of the Urban Combat street self defense system, a reality based system of his own devising that emphasizes the spiritual and mental aspects as much as the physical. I hope you enjoy the interview.

Hi Emil and thank you for doing this interview. Perhaps you could start by telling us a little bit about your martial arts background.

Thank you for the opportunity. I have been training in martial arts for 27 years now. I started my training with my uncle Armick Martirossian, who was 7th dan black belt in WTF Tae Kwon Do then I moved on to doing Wing Chung for 5 years and then I went back and studied ITF Tae Kwon Do and attained my 1st dan black belt and achieved a gold medal at the national championships in 1994.

I moved on to WTF Tae Kwon Do and I trained to 3rd Dan black belt and competed in full contact Tae Kwon Do, becoming British and European champion. Then I moved on to learning Jeet Kune Do while at the same time training in kick boxing and various other forms of martial arts including the five animal style Kung Fu. I was trained by Walter J Johnson who was Chris Eubanks WBO World Boxing Champion. His boxing coach Walter was also a Kung Fu master with over 40 years experience in the traditional forms such as Praying Mantis, Bau Gau, Chin Na, tiger form and monkey boxing.

Then I trained with Clive McKenzie Esq. who was guru Dan Inosanto’s student back in 1978 to 1984. Then I continue to train with guru at his seminars in the UK. Also I have met and trained with my dear friend Sigung Taky Kimura, Bruce Lee’s highest ranked student.