Free standing punchbag

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by zombiekicker, Jun 16, 2015.

1. zombiekicker

zombiekicker bagpuss

I have nowhere to hang a punchbag, any good recs for a freestanding one, as I want to practice both punching and kicking, not thin air either

2. liero

liero Valued Member

I've found them to generally be sub par compared to a solid roof mounted heavy bag. If you want to get "freestanding" find a rack that you can hang a big bag off rather than buying one of the ones you fill with water into a base on the bottom. Falls over less and you can pick the bag.

3. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

I have a "wavemaster" that was not great for power punching so I covered the whole thing in tires and now you can really give it some leather and it doesn't fall

4. Dead_pool

Dead_pool Spes mea in nihil Deus MAP 2017 Moi Award

Buy a maize shapped bag, if your small on space there a lot better for striking.

5. belltoller

belltoller OffTopic MonstreOrdinaire Supporter

Would drilling, mounting stud beams on a portion of a wall be out of the question?

You not being a wee fellow would probably get frustrated with anything under 7 stone - I'd recommend an Outslayer Heavy bag stand - it can support up to 160kg or so weight and provides enough vertical space to be able to mount the taller bags that you'd want for kicking.

When I first got our Muay Thai (150 lb) bag, I stood it in a corner of our basement while I finished mounting the ceiling beam bracket fixture and noticed if you pulled the bottom of the bag out a few centimetres from the corner it would not fall over regardless of how much one punched or kicked it - very sturdy - of course there is the issue of limited striking mobility but if you are unable to mount anything, it will temporarily do until you've gotten the proper sized bag - hanger.