Taekwon-do for a mature beginner

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Gazz73, Mar 15, 2016.

1. Gazz73

Gazz73 New Member

Hi

Can anyone tell me if Taekwon-do is suitable to do for a person in their early forties, despite what their body shape may be?
    I've found pages online that suggest anyone can do it.
    Just need clarification.

Thanks

2. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

Anyone can do it but with the best will in the world there is a "high kicks good!" bias in a lot of TKD that can reward the young but annoy the old. :)
    But I've seen all sorts give it a go and a good instructor will make allowances for a variety of body types, ages and goals.

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

As a TKD black belt in my 40s (with a large frame), I'd say "yes". As an instructor, I've worked with students from age 5 to mid 70s of all body shapes and varying levels of physical (and mental) ability.

That said, what I would recommend is checking out whatever martial arts schools are nearby, watching to see how they train, and speaking to the instructors about your goals. Try a few trial classes and join the one that fits best.

If I were looking to start TKD now (in my mid 40s), I'd probably look for a class with mostly mature students and a more 'self defense' focus rather than competition (unless you are into the competitive side, in which case there are great senior divisions within TKD tournies).

Good luck to you

4. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

Any class is heavily dependant on the attitude of the Instructor. What's important is that the nature of the class suit your goals.

TKD will likely have some emphasis on fitness and flexibility, so if those are things that interest you, go for it!

Personally, as an Instructor, I love having adult beginners.

Mitch

5. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

At forty, with healthy joints, high kicks are easy to develop.

6. Earl Weiss

Earl Weiss Valued Member

Define "Easy".

7. Gazz73

Gazz73 New Member