What is Ninjutsu geared towards?

Discussion in 'Ninjutsu' started by Pretty In Pink, Jul 2, 2015.

1. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Pretty much what the title says. Like MMA is geared specifically towards one trained opponent in a rule set. Is nu Jitsu geared towards trained or untrained opponents, armed and more than one opponent?

2. kevin g

kevin g Valued Member

It's a cliche answer, but I would say survival under any circumstances. It should be a complete system, not just fighting techniques, which is what seperates it from other martial arts.

3. Count Duckula

Count Duckula Valued Member

The art taught in the xkans iss generally a mishmash of techniques for different strategies. Ryuha specific teachings otoh can be geared towards a specific goal, or for a specific context.

I am far from an expert, but there are big differences between unarmed fighting styles between different ryuha for example. One of the reasons is that some ryuha are geared towards fighting unarmed when you don't have arms or armour. Other styles assume you are fighting unarmed while wearing armour and having a sword at your side. In one style, this means you can be very agile and unencumbered by weapons, so your movements and techniques will be different than if you have 30 kilos of junk strapped to your body and have to worry about your opponent pulling your sword out of your belt.

4. Giovanni

Giovanni Well-Known Member Supporter

i would go up a level and say the point of the "art" is simply to transmit a bunch of techniques to successive generations, regardless of their efficacy or their applicability to the current time.

5. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

SOME other arts - it is far from unique in that "aim"

6. pearsquasher

pearsquasher Valued Member