Splits Help

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by JTG, Aug 11, 2016.

1. JTG

JTG New Member

Hello...

Let me start out by saying this. I am NOT flexible at ALL! I have been a martial artist for 14 years and throughout all of these years, I have always had a huge amount of trouble when it comes to flexibility. However, for around the last 3 or 4 years I have been working constantly on my flexibility, mainly, just accomplishing the splits. Unfortunately, I still have not accomplished this.

This is my daily stretch routine I have been doing for the past few years. It has helped my splits go from about 90 degrees to around 110 degrees, however, as of recently, progress has slowed a LOT.
    -30 seconds of front splits (each side)
    -30 seconds sitting on the floor with a leg extended reaching for it (each side)
    -5 minutes of doing the splits up against a wall with 5 lb weights on each leg stretching further every minute
    -30 seconds to 1 minute of butterfly stretch

If anyone has any more ideas on things I could do to help me accomplish the full splits (180 degrees) please let me know. I would love something more to try and hopefully to work.

Thank you very much!

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

What strength training are you doing on the legs?

Van Zandt has a definitive guide on here too...you should search out the thread :)

3. JTG

JTG New Member

I don't do too much on the legs. When I do, it's mainly squat type exercises and slow kicking.

4. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

5. matveimediaarts

matveimediaarts Underappreciated genius