JKD Question from an outsider

Discussion in 'Jeet Kune Do' started by Sinmoo, Dec 1, 2013.

1. Sinmoo

Sinmoo Valued Member

I'm a long timer Hapkido student and teacher for background, several years ago a bought Paul Vunak's Enigma DVD and I really thought it was worth while as it cut things down to the essentials yet remained flexible and adaptable to no limit.

Is it correct to say the difference between Paul's art and Inosanto's is Paul's is a fast track to the essence of combat vs. Inosanto as a long track. Paul being more right to the meat and potato's and Dan as slower more complex heavier on drills oriented system.

Thanks and sorry if my questions are off somewhat as an outsider to JKD.

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

The Enigma is the core syllabus for "Contemporary JKD" and is Vu's distillation of all that he has found useful from his time in training. So you might say it IS Inosanto's system, just with a Vu filter applied to it

However, even CJKD has other layers to it, and there is a lot we do that is not on the Enigma

Guro Dan has a plethora of students and if you look at each one they all have a different feel and vibe.....Vu is different than Richardson who is different than Ballicki wh is different from Young who is different from Paulson, yet they all share a common heritage. They also tend to have more common ground than you might think

3. Fujian Animal

Fujian Animal Banned Banned