So I was attacked...

Discussion in 'Aikido' started by TheLastDancer, Mar 14, 2017.

1. TheLastDancer

TheLastDancer New Member

I've been training in aikido for 6 years. I was attacked in the street by a mugger last week and ended up getting beaten up pretty badly. I tried to do the pins but the guy broke free and it turned into a brawl. I honestly thought this would work.

I'm ok now albeit with a bad black eye, and I'm gutted to say this- aikido really doesn't work in a confrontation. Should this art be resigned to something traditional like Kendo and Tai Chi?

Jesus it's like a spell of complete delusion has been broken.

2. bud00

bud00 New Member

I would say that it was just a bad luck. Otherwise it's up to you how much force do you use it. I believe you could do some kick ass stuff but you hold back. On the other hand be happy that he didn't have knife or gun. I had as a kid once that kind of experience, got into a fight and then he pull out a gun (later known to be replica). Stay safe.

3. gapjumper

gapjumper Intentionally left blank

Sorry if I misunderstand but why would you want to pin a mugger? Would you not defend yourself, strike maybe, and run away?

4. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

I'm sorry that happened to you. It really sucks.

As for aikido, you've discovered the hard way that compliant uke's don't prepare you for anything. Don't blame aikido, blame the training methodology.

5. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

Very much this.

Mitch

6. Agoge

Agoge Valued Member

There is a world of difference between a dojo and a street. The earlier you learn that, the better you will be.

Study the "dissecting a dummy", IIRC, theory and go from there. (I can't remember who stated it...thought it was Bruce Lee...not sure) It's based on people who simply study static positions without any true resistance.

I am glad to hear you are ok! It could have ended up worse.

Last edited: Mar 14, 2017
  7. Pretty In Pink