Sparring mentality

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by kandi, Mar 13, 2017.

1. kandi

kandi Valued Member

Hi...

I'm new to sparring, ~18 months.

Some days, it's great and I'm in the zone. Usually when I'm sparring people around about my own level. I am relaxed, breathe, use footwork, variety of heights and attacks, combinations etc. It flows without thinking and feels really awesome.

Other days, it's awful. Usually when sparring with the black belts. My technique is worst against them, than against the lower grades. I over think it, I freeze and mentally can't get past the fact that I'm getting smashed. We can spar for 3 or 4 minutes without me landing a hit, and the longer it goes the harder for me to continue without retreating with guard up and cowering into a corner.

Any tips for how to get past this? I don't need tips on how to "win" the spar, because I won't beat them. I just need to not psych out so I can improve against higher grades.

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Don't chase them and counter them instead? If you aren't landing anything then the higher belts are not helping you at all. It completely defeats the purpose if you don't learn anything from it.

Other than that, stop thinking about their grade. It means absolutely nothing. Once you remove that thought from your brain everything becomes way easier. It's not an easy switch but with practice you can ignore the fact they have any belt on at all.

3. kandi

kandi Valued Member

I could counter more. Nice suggestion. Sensei suggested I could feint more, but that just made me think more, if that makes sense. I feel like thinking is the enemy of fluid sparring.

So where does your mind go when you're losing a fight? What do you do to not slide into a bad headspace?

4. Pretty In Pink